It might be 4am over in Utah right now, but in just a few hours it’s judgement time for as qualifying gets under way for 21 riders hoping to make it into the finals of the Red Bull Rampage on Sunday.

Photo by Ian Hylands // Red Bull Content Pool

This is the seventh time since 2001 that the Red Bull Rampage has rolled into Virgin, Utah and is guaranteed to be filled with suspense as fans get to watch the world’s favorite riders battle it out on a unique desert mountain course. Unlike events with a defined course and familiar obstacles, Red Bull Rampage lets the riders determine their own route down steep cliffs; the more creative the line, the better the score.

Mick Hannah - Photo by John Gibson // Red Bull Content Pool

With just 12 spots up for grabs the following riders are going to have their work cut out to impress the judges:

Antoine Bizet
Garett Buehler
James Doerfling
Brendan Fairclough
Pierre Edouard Ferry
Thomas Genon
Casey Groves
Mick Hannah
Mike Hopkins
Brendan Howey
Ramon Hunziker
Mike Kinrade
Cam McCaul
Kelly McGarry
Anthony Messere
Kyle Norbaten
Sam Pilgrim
Brett Rheeder
Curtis Robinson
Nick Simcik
Martin Soderstrom
Chris Van Dine
Nico Vink
Greg Watts
Wil White 

Pierre Edouard Ferry - Photo by Ian Hylands // Red Bull Content Pool

Already through to the finals on Sunday are:

Gee Atherton
Darren Berrecloth
Logan Binggeli
Robbie Bourdon
Geoff Gulevich
Andreu Lacondeguy
Tyler McCaul
Alex Prochazka
Brandon Semenuk – Winner 2008
Kurt Sorge
Kyle Strait
Thomas Vanderham
Cam Zink – Winner 2010

James Doerfling - Photo by Christian Pondella // Red Bull Content Pool

A live webcast will capture all the action on October 7th at 1pm MT (6pm GMT) over at Make sure you don’t miss it!

Fri 5th Oct, 2012 @ 11:20 am

We Recommend